Skip to content

Bio

Born; 1963 – Waterbury, Connecticut, USA. Catholic parents. Mother; French-Canadian. Father; English-Irish-Scot. Youngest of 17 children.

Catholic Grade School. Two years public High School. No further formal education until later in life.

Thirty-plus years of on-the-job training. Started working as a kid – doing odd jobs for neighbors. Mowing lawns, raking leaves, and shoveling snow. Childhood chores for extra money turned into paper routes and caddying. In late teens performed many odd jobs in industries such as restaurants, manufacturing, and retail.

In 1983, moved to New York City to find a way into the music business. Positions included working in a retail musical instrument shop and three night club jobs – most notably assistant manager of CBGB, a world-renown music venue. Played in several bands and had some minor success. Learned much about music and the music business.

In 1987, found a way into legal and financial proofreading. Worked in the largest firms in Manhattan. Projects included proofreading everything from client billing to tedious leases to major cases for law firms. Edited newsletters and other items for financial institutions.

Moved to Nashville in 1990. Worked in the Opryland Hotel as part of the door staff. Was a limo driver during parts of 1994/1995, then got into the computer business. From a tech at CompUSA to corporate and government IT jobs. Companies included auto parts maker Calsonic, Heidelberg Web Press, and Healthcare Corporation of America. First Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer(MCSE) for Metro Nashville Government. Ran independent computer business from 2003 – 2008. Serviced small companies and individual users.

In 2008 acquired GED, went on to first year of college at Tennessee State University, was on the Dean’s list, acquired State Dept scholarship and other awards for study abroad. Lived and studied at the University of Debrecen in Debrecen, Hungary for two years. Subjects included linguistics, creative writing, Hungarian language, and Hungarian history. Went back to the US and left a year later in 2012. Since then has amassed the credits for a BA degree through other universities in the Tennessee State system. Currently one algebra test away from completion of the BA.

Acquired TEFL certificate in 2012. Worked in Hungary as an ESL teacher, gaining experience over time.

Moved to Vietnam in 2016 and taught and tutored English to a wide variety of people – from young children to executives and military personnel. Classroom and individual teaching. Two years experience teaching remotely.

Lifelong cyclist. Went from kid on a bike to navigating NYC streets to riding in several countries as daily transportation. Took a two-month cycling holiday in the summer of 2011 to ride through parts of Italy, Spain, France, and Belgium.

Lifelong lover of music, especially electric guitars. Not an avid collector, but very particular about what to have and how it should work, sound, and feel. More like a hot-rodder – looking for a mix of high performance and art. Deep familiarity with the history of Western music, and thorough knowledge of instruments. Has studied music theory, bass guitar, guitar, percussion, and voice.

Currently writing non-fiction about travel, music, work, and other aspects of life.

Has lived in Lisbon, Budapest, Hai Phong, Hanoi, Hoi An and Tirana since leaving the US in 2012. Home is in Hoi An. Family is there.